Like what Bob Dylan did to Tin Pan Alley

TechCrunch

Editor’s note: James Altucher is an investor, programmer, author, and entrepreneur. He has started and sold several companies, run a VC fund, and is an active investor in many private companies. His upcoming book is called “Choose Yourself!” For more Choose Yourself stories and updates from the book, you can sign up for his list here.

I wish I had been smarter when I was 23 years old. I did everything wrong: I felt like I needed a college degree. I felt like I needed a graduate degree (I was thrown out of graduate school ultimately). I felt like I needed a publishing company to “choose me” to be a writer. I felt like I needed a big corporation to hire me so I could validate that I was going to be successful.

I needed none of these things.

You need none of these things. I’m going to…

View original post 2,436 more words

